“Fifty-One Punch Dispute” by Scott Sparks

Counting the scars on my knuckles
When again will I add to these bundles?
Motor-mouths seek a multitude
To conceal the scarcity of their fortitude
Calling them out doesn’t conduce
Toward knowing of one needing to stand on their own two
I’m not a grenade; I’m an empty shell case
Already spent; lying in wait
Meanwhile monosyllabic adages
Leave my eardrums disfigured, in need of better bandages
Malocclusions tense upon retrospect
As intellect ravages neighborhoods they tend to inhabit
I get confused by their celebratory attitude
To be subdued, is that where it’s at?
Why am I, why do they?
I’m not a grenade; I’m an empty shell case
Some dents done made
Already spent; lying in wait

(11/24/16)

—Scott Sparks

About richardfyates

Compulsive creator of the bizarre and absurd. (Artist, writer, poet, provocateur...)
This entry was posted in poems, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

