“I’ll Walk” by Scott Sparks

How can a hard heart be softened?
When will one catch the wind and how often?
I was once more stupid than any man
What with my repeated attempts to gather the wind in my hand
Her destruction stirs the fires unquenchably upword
How I withstood and am still standing is a good question
As I’d tried the door to a heart without a key
Allowed far enough inside for bitter flames to reach me
Worn out welcomes are realized seldomly soon enough
Now I sit behind my own locked door, trying to open up
While I can’t claim there won’t be another door in which I’ll knock
If I’m without key then it wasn’t meant to be
And I’ll walk

(11/30/16)

—Scott Sparks

About richardfyates

Compulsive creator of the bizarre and absurd. (Artist, writer, poet, provocateur...)
This entry was posted in poems, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

