“My Plate” by Scott Sparks

The meal in front of me isn’t what I remember ordering
If I had a say in what’s on my plate then the chef knew better than me
Thankful for my plate; thankful for this day
A table for two
Made for me and you
A table larger than pre-existing fables for everyone we knew
Please come in, all are welcome
I see some of them unhappy with the smorgasbord they’d ordered
Eyein’ others’ plates like their fate’s been neglected or aborted
I’m thankful for the plate that’s in front of me
And I wouldn’t trade one morsel
No, I wouldn’t trade one day
I see some with plates piled unsteady
They sure can make it seem them calories ain’t empty
Tryin’ to fill the hole in their heart through their belly
Ain’t it a shame?
Well, I’m thankful for my plate
Thank you, Lord, for this day
Now please come in
All are welcome, not all are relevant

(12/22/16)

—Scott Sparks

About richardfyates

Compulsive creator of the bizarre and absurd. (Artist, writer, poet, provocateur...)
This entry was posted in poems, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

