“Quiet is Kept” by Scott Sparks

Slow movement, incongruent
Those whom I’m cool with and those left from the outset
Lost within then found again
Not so much with mice, I rise with men
I rise up taller despite despise among the squalor
Though I’m not better than, I’m merely a better version of this portrait
I may not be bitter but my teeth still chatter among the shiver
Delivering well-received warm cups from sips not meant to forget
I was once a sneaker without shoelaces, displaced amid distaste
Now I’m fit to be tied, not so wary to collide my state of grace
Haphazardly not so easy
Tasks at hand not meant to be pleasing
Forget the mice; let them roam down below
I rise with men, my pen and my stereo
Where well-received warm cups from sips not meant to forget
Aren’t better than but merely I’m a better version of this portrait
Not being bitter, battling teeth chattering among the shiver
For all that I rise, quiet is kept despite despise delivered

(1/1/17)

—Scott Sparks

About richardfyates

Compulsive creator of the bizarre and absurd. (Artist, writer, poet, provocateur...)
This entry was posted in poems, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

