“Empty Costumes” by Scott Sparks

The path of least significance
Laying down when standing ground entails much needed interference
All the while you calculate
Still the path laid isn’t made straight
How is it your additions actually subtract?
Of course you know this means war
And there ain’t no take backs
Money ain’t the root of all evil
Whether or not, you best believe it
The love of the so-called mighty dollar
Tears apart brothers, mothers, sons and daughters all-too-easy
Prioritizing padded pockets
Greasy fingers better placed in light sockets
Nothing’s shocking
No matter how lost I may feel at any given approximate
Relationships placed well ahead of the amount in my bank account
Cash rules everything around me except me
Whenever I leave, no longer breathe then I won’t be taking it with me
Fame and fortune; don’t torture me with empty costumes
My family, no matter their calamity
Is all I find to be important

(1/8/17)

—Scott Sparks

About richardfyates

Compulsive creator of the bizarre and absurd. (Artist, writer, poet, provocateur...)
This entry was posted in poems, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

