“Forgotten Fruit” by Scott Sparks

When I see the sun, I know the day’s begun
Some days it seems kinda like there isn’t one
That’s when I gotta dig deeper than once thought
Stay strong, stay true and stay standing straight up
Those impoverished in heart should follow suit
Or collect dust up on the shelf of forgotten fruit
As I navigate these calamities with an intangible compass
I proliferate pliable strategies some try taking from us
Until said dust settles over surfaces of the forgettable
Such produce doesn’t produce anything I’d sink my teeth into
I prefer paths I choose to have passing lanes
So when I get ahead of myself, it’s easier to translate steps mislaid
Whether or not I’m warmed by rays
I’ve got to burrow behind my brow to stand up straight
No longer leaving room for forgotten fruit
Those impoverished in heart should follow suit

(2/1/17)

—Scott Sparks

About richardfyates

Compulsive creator of the bizarre and absurd. (Artist, writer, poet, provocateur...)
This entry was posted in poems, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

