“I Float” by Scott Sparks

They breathe against me
Teasing like I’m in the grave already
Words of wisdom readily hold my vision steady
Am I too far gone when I cannot see beyond?
When their breath makes me deaf, dumb, blind and withdrawn?
Seeking peace when it’s the language no one speaks
Am I fit for this disease or will I ever see relief?
In this dungeon, I float as if it were the ocean
My buoyancy was rewritten so I could cope while in motion
They breathe against me
But I’m not in the grave yet
They tease when they believe defeat’s what I’ll accept
When their breath makes me deaf, dumb, blind and withdrawn
This diseased dungeon defines the detriments beyond
This ocean I cope within is where my buoyancy was rewritten
Seeking peace when it’s the language no one speaks
Steadily holding my vision afloat, ready for relief

(2/10/17)

—Scott Sparks

About richardfyates

Compulsive creator of the bizarre and absurd. (Artist, writer, poet, provocateur...)
This entry was posted in poems, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

