“Big Beyond” by Scott Sparks

The biggest ship to the smallest pond
What makes me think I could know the big beyond?
Or when and if it’s time to give away
In which season do I release my boomerang?
What I catapult myself toward, I cannot pretend
So I stand in place with a ready hand
Ready to receive whether or not it brings me pain
The letting go of my boomerang
From the wakeful morning cup to last call
What does the day mean when it ends against the same wall?
The decision to keep at arm’s length or give away
When’s the season for me to release my boomerang?
What I catapult myself toward, I cannot pretend
So I stand in place with an unsteady hand
Ready or not, I’m willing to receive even if it brings me pain
Gotta let go of my boomerang
I consider your abyss to be a gift
From these depths in which we share
I will tread and traverse with care
Let us show one another from beginning to end
Such things I cannot pretend
So when I extend to catapult myself toward
The decision to give away won’t be a question anymore

(2/17/17)

—Scott Sparks

About richardfyates

Compulsive creator of the bizarre and absurd. (Artist, writer, poet, provocateur...)
This entry was posted in poems, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

