“Uninhabited” by Scott Sparks

A door you’ve locked yourself isn’t closed forever
Even if you’ve lost the key, there’s a way in one way or another
A room might need to be left uninhabited
Maybe its use has reached its pinnacle or far well past it
That doesn’t mean things should be left in shambles
Without prior experience, what’s the proper way to handle?
Leaving the furniture and floor immaculate requires too many steps
When such a compartment’s carpet’s embedded with sorrowful regret
A candle in the corner scented of good times aerated
Memories cover the walls framed, never to be duplicated
The inevitability of a visit can creep in for a time
So if so when I slip in, it’s not exactly a crime
Of the doors I’ve opened and closed
I don’t suppose any of the rooms they lead to
Will ever lead me to feel as I do
Now that I’ve seen what’s on the shelf
Now that I’ve locked this door myself

(3/6/17)

—Scott Sparks

About richardfyates

Compulsive creator of the bizarre and absurd. (Artist, writer, poet, provocateur...)
This entry was posted in poems, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

