“Final Cord” by Scott Sparks

Threaded, wired, tethered
All but lifeless until severed
Seemingly loosened with coaxing
Snapping taut in one quick motion
Both feet fixed along with each wrist
A collar for my throat, choked if I resist
Best to stay silent or agree with shuttered eyelids
Than to vent frustrated confinement when all I’ll get is deceitful compliance
A sharp object is my prospect
To escape before the search party calls it
Before a floral memorial for me on a roadside sits
If ever I’ve been lacerated
Please let this one be the worst and the greatest
Untie this shabby knot I thought I bought at a bargain
Twisted to the point of its own confusion for what it’s caught in
The slice of one cut could prove itself definitive
When a seemingly daunting single string is the one thing standing between me and breathing uninhibited

(3/26/17)

—Scott Sparks

About richardfyates

Compulsive creator of the bizarre and absurd. (Artist, writer, poet, provocateur...)
This entry was posted in poems, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

