“My Only Obstacle” by Scott Sparks

The warring within me is warded off rarely
Uncivil is this conflict, stripping bare things deemed necessary
Self conscious; to myself I can be obstinate
When I should prosper, my only obstacle is counting losses, ignoring profit
A voice giving me no choice talks loud and often
Hoping the repetition of its intervention will lead me to dead end
As if I’m the one to hold a gun as a cry for help
While logic lodges the barrel with preservation of self
A trigger finger doesn’t ring a bell for the story I tell
However, this dispute fortifies my resolute to wield weapons I’ve been given well
For the sake of that quiet whisper
Overshadowed when I most need her
She’s still there harboring handfuls of what I increasingly require
Peace without a leash and shame forgotten in a grave
Penance without grief due to what I’ve gained from lessons laid
Self conscious; to myself I can be obstinate
When I should prosper, I will because I wasn’t built for loss and I haven’t yet

(5/5/17)

—Scott Sparks

About richardfyates

Compulsive creator of the bizarre and absurd. (Artist, writer, poet, provocateur...)
This entry was posted in poems, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

