“State of the Workshop Address – 25 June 2017” by Richard F. Yates

Greetings Citizens!

I haven’t stopped to chat with all you folks in a while, and figured that it was about time. There are a number of things I want to address in this address, so sit back, grab a cold cocktail, and (when you’re ready) read on!

1. – Trippin’

Tomorrow morning, I’m loading three bowlers and a bunch of gear (and some pepperoni sticks and soft drinks) into a tiny car and hitting the road for a 19 hour drive to Las Vegas. I made 12 cds (of mostly new wave and techno and novelty songs), which will get me most of the way there (and cause the rest of the people in the car to hate me…but HEY, I’m driving! Gotta keep the driver happy, right?) My daughter and my wife are flying out on Tuesday and meeting me at the South Point Stadium sometime Tuesday evening. We’ll be up to our gills in bowling excitement for most of Wednesday and Thursday, might take in some of the sights on Friday, and then we start home on Saturday. What this means to YOU people is that next week might be pretty sparse. If you get too bored, try looking at the OLDER posts and see if anything catches your fancy. Type “Randy Long” or “Richard O’Brien” or “Read a Damn Book” in the search bar and check out some classics! Hopefully, I’ll be home and rested and back on schedule by Monday, July 3rd. I MIGHT post some junk from my phone while I’m out and about, but I wouldn’t hold my breath if I were you… (It kills braincells.)

2. – Primitive Sound System

You might have seen a post a few days ago (maybe a week???) about the new Primitive Entertainment Workshop online radio station. We’ve uploaded a bunch of new wave, techno, punk, goth, industrial, psychedelic rock, ska, old school hip hop, and alternative music to the station, which is streaming 24/7, right now, as we speak! In addition to this MUSICAL content, we’ve also posted a few, odd, audio creations of our own devising, which are fun and full of pep, with titles like: “Tatered Cat Attacks Gym Shorts,” “Machete,” “Lower Your Expectations,” “Barfing Zombi-trons,” and so on… I had HOPED to get a few more pieces up before I left town, but it’s not looking too good. In the meantime, click the link below to enjoy the soothing sounds of Primitivity!

PRIMITIVE SOUND SYSTEM

3. – Random Bits

Still writing my READ A DAMN BOOK reviews. (The most recent was for the Alan Moore & Dave Gibbons graphic novel, WATCHMEN.) I’ve fallen behind in my ALLEN TOMBES serialized novella chapters, which I’ve been posting to the Primitive Patreon Page, but I’ll get back on that as soon as I return from the bowling tournament. However, if you haven’t had a chance to check out the MUSEUM OF WHAT I LIKE page, yet, I’m pretty happy with how it’s coming along. I’ve been posting photographs at this site of art that I find OUT THERE in the “REAL WORLD.”

Still need to type up the rest of Randy Long’s “Bigfoot” story, and the Primitive Image Archive Project is currently on hold until my head stops spinning. Hmmmm…. Let’s see… Anything else? Oh yes…

4. – Negative Comment

Something interesting and new happened to me a couple of weeks ago, which I’m still processing. After 5,000+ posts, I got a negative comment! A long time viewer/reader said that they used to like my work, but they now realize that I’m just “trying to profit from [my] misplaced hate.” I thought, at first, that they were joking (considering the absolute ZERO profit that I receive for running the Workshop), and then I figured out that the comment (and the sentiment) were probably a reaction to the POLITICAL content of my post. On the Prezdent’s Bifday, I posted a pen and ink drawing of a poison cake with spikes on it (after I had digitally colored the image a lovely shade of pink.) I thought it was funny—but I’m not a fan of the man or his policies…mostly because he is a bully. And I hate bullies.

Ninety-nine percent of my posts are political or subversive or (at the very least) deconstructing some accepted societal concept in a way that most people would probalby find offensive if they understood my intention, and that’s how my posts have ALWAYS been—so I was really caught off guard by the negative comment. Really. I mean, I can SEE being upset or offended by the bad drawing or the abstract language or the rabid NONSENSE, but I NEVER get comments about that stuff. “You draw like a 3 year old!” (I wish I’d get that one!!!) BUT, the minute I take the easy route, do something blatant (as if the orange faced monster with the word “Doom” written next to him was too subtle), then I get the blowback. Maybe I need to RAMP IT UP A BIT? Nah… I like my bunnies and snakes and ghosts… Just thought it was weird.

5. – Whatevers

So that’s the State of the Workshop at the moment. Cruising along, too many irons in the fire, blasting off in five different directions at once, and so scattered and bizarre that most people just ignore us and scroll on by! (The freedom from expectations is intoxicating!!!) I’ll get in touch with you peoples in a week or so!!!

—Richard F. Yates
(Commander in Cheap of The Primitive Entertainment Workshop)

https://primitiveentertainment.wordpress.com
https://www.patreon.com/primitiveentertainment
http://readadamnbookwithrfy.blogspot.com
http://primitivesoundsystem.playtheradio.com/

About richardfyates

Compulsive creator of the bizarre and absurd. (Artist, writer, poet, provocateur...)
This entry was posted in art, autobiography, bowling, bowling tournaments, humor, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

