“Askew” by Scott Sparks

They say misery loves company
Must be why it’s in all forms around me
I’ve been told to sit; shackled forthwith
The debacle I’ve battled has left me shattered like ashes and stripped
Incessant clashing, out of my hands – merely babbling
While in passing; part of the plan was none of this
Deprivation of candles lit
I’m in the dark again, drably as the clock ticks
I need to see you see me through
If the world around us is in shambles; I’m, at the very least, askew
On the ground floor of really knowing
Lost in the interior of my coffin
I don’t know where this story may go; plus, I lack control quite often
Consider the lesson whenever you question
Sometimes confessions leave you breathless
I’m winded and defenseless; yet still blessed
How can I tell and whom would listen?
A fissure filled as a blister; dressed in state issue
The only tissues I’ve wetted are for those I’ve negatively affected
Respectfully declining to recline
As if I could rest amidst ties that bind
The gavel reminds, yet I don’t forget
I’d rather be met by those that haven’t left
Closely I’ve kept a calm that remains
Though turbulence intrudes, my spirit’s sustained
This version of myself is of better health
Put in my place, I’m thankful for the pain

—Scott Sparks

About richardfyates

Compulsive creator of the bizarre and absurd. (Artist, writer, poet, provocateur...)
This entry was posted in biography, poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment